Gibson Brands Forums

Has Epiphone ever made a resonator guitar?

andy59

Thanks Red and Pohatu! :- Now to find one to check out. Any comments on how the Gibson Dobro, Epi Biscuit or other Epi resonators play are welcome. One thing I am wondering about is these models basically set up for slide playing (with high action) or is the string height adjustable. I have been playing for about 6 months. Not so much blues or bluegrass, but classic/blues/alternative/Country rock songs. An example of a song I would practice is "Crippled Inside" by John Lennon.

I have played both the Biscuit model (wooden body) and the MD100 model (brass). On the Epi website, look for the page for the "Bluegrass (grrrrrr...) Collection" to find specs and pix for both. I play the same kind of material you do, presently on a vintage '73 steel Dobro and a Masterbilt AJ500RC. I also use the Dobro for fingerpicking as well as sliding, so I keep the action pretty low anyway. Gotta practice to get the "touch" to avoid the fret buzz!

I liked what I heard from the Biscuit, and certainly the price is right. I was surprised to read from Epi's own specs that the nut width is as small as they say--it didn't feel like it. This would be a red flag for me, but perhaps it still works--or even works better--for you.

I was much less impressed with the Epi metal-bodied resonator. It was awkward to hold--I prefer playing standing--as the body was extremely heavy (brass? Specs in one place say steel, in another brass. Sure feels like brass). The sound was too "pretty". Kind of round, bottom-heavy, little "cut" to it, and just dull. My own preference is for a little "edge" in the sound of a metal-bodied resonator, and this just didn't have it. Neither did the Biscuit very much, but it's wood and my expectations are different. And it's less awkward. And cheaper!