Gibson Brands Forums

OT for champ 600

hey guys, I am new to modding amps, havnt done much at tall, but I dont want to screw up my champ 600 (5watt) , I have a 16 ohm 12in cab that i would like to plug it into , well i already have a few short times, Luckly nothing has gone wrong, I found out that the champ only has a 4 ohm output, so I would like to just replace the out put transformer with one that has 4, 8, and 16 ohm outs, I looked at mercury magnets but they only sell the kit!!!! i just want the OT, so can anyone recomend a place to find one for my champ?! and will runnig it into the 160hm cab really kill it!!!! i dont wana do that, and how hard of a job is it to replace the OT thanks guys!

hey guys' date=' I am new to modding amps, havnt done much at tall, but I dont want to screw up my champ 600 (5watt) , I have a 16 ohm 12in cab that i would like to plug it into , well i already have a few short times, Luckly nothing has gone wrong, I found out that the champ only has a 4 ohm output, so I would like to just replace the out put transformer with one that has 4, 8, and 16 ohm outs, I looked at mercury magnets but they only sell the kit!!!! i just want the OT, so can anyone recomend a place to find one for my champ?! and will runnig it into the 160hm cab really kill it!!!! i dont wana do that, and how hard of a job is it to replace the OT thanks guys![/quote']

Why don't you just parallel the existing 4 ohm with the 16 ohm speaker. The effective

impedance would be 4x16 (64) divided by 4 + 16 (20) = 3.2 ohms.

Most o/p transformers will take about a 10 % mismatch so..10% of 4 ohms (nominal)

is .4 ohms...or about 3.6 ohms that the transformer can accept without serious

damage. You are not going to be pumping out 100watts RMS through a 5 watt Champ

in any case, so any minor impedance mismatch isn't going to fry the o/p transformer.

The 16 ohm won't be quite as loud as the built in 4 ohm because the current in the

o/p signal will split proportionally.