Gibson Brands Forums

LP Prophecy Question

Melkor

Hello all, new to the forum. YAY!

So I'm thinking seriously about purchasing the Epiphone LP Prophecy. Played it and loved the neck and EMGs. Perfect for me in pretty much every way... except ONE.

Now, I've been playing for 20 years but I've just never been much for the tech side of things. Never replaced pickups or did any wiring. This has pretty much remained true for most art forms I dabble in. I don't get TOO into the tech side of things and if I have to, it rarely ends well.

But here's my question. I like having just two knobs, but I would greatly prefer to have two VOLUME knobs. I don't really ever do anything with tone, and I DO use the switch in a couple of songs to go from a hot pickup to a quiet one for effect (Like what Randy Rhodes and Zakk Wylde to at the beginning of Crazy Train). So is it feasible to change the knob from tone to volume for the neck pickup? Or should I look elsewhere?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated #-o

Thanks.

I share the same thoughts (I own the LP EX,) fantastic guitar, but 2 volumes are infinitely more useful to me than 1/1. If you're not a mod-friendly person, I'd recommend taking it to a pro, it's a fairly complex job, as far as guitar wiring goes, however it is a pretty short job. Hell, it probably even sounds better after taking the tone pot/cap out of the loop.

I do recommend going for it, it's a truly impressive guitar in terms of sound and feel and quality.

@Paruwi & Wrighty; the GX does indeed have Dirty Fingers, and no, there is no reason to change them. However, the OP was asking if it is feasible to rewire a Prophecy EX to have 2 volume pots instead of vol/tone, which as far as I can make sense of it, has little to do with the pickups in the GX model. [blink]