Gibson Brands Forums

Pup suggestions for my G400

fpd4308

I am thinking about changing out the factory pups on my g400. Just something to get a differant sound than what I already have. I have an LP with Gibson 57's and a LP with p90s. Was going to see if anyone had any suggestions. I was considering the Gibson angus young sig series pups but never met anyone who has had them. I am new to this modding thing so was just looking for suggestions. I mostly play blues, classic rock, hard rock, no metal or anything like that.

Thanks

I am thinking about changing out the factory pups on my g400. Just something to get a differant sound than what I already have. I have an LP with Gibson 57's and a LP with p90s. Was going to see if anyone had any suggestions. I was considering the Gibson angus young sig series pups but never met anyone who has had them. I am new to this modding thing so was just looking for suggestions. I mostly play blues' date=' classic rock, hard rock, no metal or anything like that.

Thanks

[/quote']

I had a Elitist SG with a Gibson Dirty Fingers in the bridge, liked it a lot.

I changed the pickups on my G-400 and put a DiMarzio Tone Zone and an Air Norton. The end result is a very rock type sound which I really enjoy.

Initially, I thought about Gibson's 490R and 490T (which are like the 57s on steroids, if you will), but the DiMarzio's were cheaper and none the worse for it.

I am very pleased with them.

Guest icantbuyafender

gibson's 490R/498T humbucker set is the definition of what an sg should sound like. its probably the most popular.

i myself like an alnico II bridge pickup, and resort to using the 490T rather than 498T.

57's are good. Never heard em in an sg.