Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul sound, for better or for worse

Silverbursted

I was having a conversation with a guy at work, and we began discussing how heavy Les Paul's are compared to other brands. I have limited experience with the LPs and Super Strats (Kramer, Jackson, Charvel and Ibanez), and in my opinion, the heavier the guitar is, the better it sounds. I commented last week how much fuller the Traditional was compared to the Standard, and the Custom Shop Reissues have an even more distinctive smoother sound than the Traditional and all LP's have sustain for days. Strats and Super Strats very trebley in tone, and are pitifully weak in sustain. I base my assessment on the tone while playing them unplugged.

I have not had the pleasure of playing LP's from the 60's, 70's, 80's or 90's and am curious as to how they stack up compared to todays offerings.

If you're comparing anything to a LP then yea, it probaly won't sustain as well. But to use pitiful to describe anything else just isn't really fair IMO. It all depends on the body and the bridge.

I've got a Jackson DKMGt that's got the same bridge and is strung through the body. It doesn't sound the same a s a LP but that's just because it's alder and not mahogany/maple. But it sustains great.

On the other hand I had a DKMG that had a FR trem. Same in every other way as the DKMGt but the bridge was different. It had sustain but didn't sound good compared to the other one, so I sold it.

Another guitar I have is a Charvel Model 3a. Basswood. It has the Jackson JT6 (which is brass) Tremolo blocked for dive only. The blocking also makes the sustain block in contact with the body for better tone/sustain. Man, when you play this bad boy you can actually feel strongly the vibrations from the strings in your stomach. it almost tickles. It has sustain plus....