Gibson Brands Forums

Synapse Truss Rod Adjustment

Paul K

Ladies and Gentlemen

I bought a gently used fretless Synapse, and the neck has a fair amount too much relief for my taste since I like them almost flat. I've lots of experience adjusting wood bass necks, but this is my first graphite one. I've given the truss rod a couple four tweaks (half turn in all over two days), tightening the hex while flexing the neck straight so the strings are flopped against the fretboard. But no change at all yet in the amount of relief; not a drop. THe web page threatens doom and gloom for us do-it-yourselfers attempting this adjustment. I know that since the neck is a fair bit striffer than the wood I'm accustomed to adjusting, the truss rod will have to push a fair bit harder to straighten the neck out, and probably just needs a few (or many) more tweaks over the next week. And i know that the truss rod just holds the neck in place but isn't really designed to "pull" it straight, which is why I stress the neck straight before tightening the hex nut. But I need reassurance. My hex key fits just right, and the nut moves with effort, but moves smoothly and predictably. Anything else I need to know? Should I maybe loosen and remove the nut all the way and squirt some lubricant onto the truss rod threads? Help me Obi-Wan, you're my only hope.

Ah...but I'm digging the sound so far. Can't wait till I get the strings close enough for a decent mwaaaaa.

Peace

Paul K

• 1 month later...

Same story with me. Alpine white fretless, truss rod in two pieces now.

It is really weird about those weak and hardly adjustable Synapse bass truss rods...

Pls tell me what did they say to you. Have they solved your problem?

• 1 month later...
......nevermind' date=' baby.

SNAP! The truss rod is in two pieces. You should see the relief now......

Will call G.C. tomorrow.......(sigh....)[/quote']