Gibson Brands Forums

Interesting Intonation problems...

Sjael

Before I begin, I'll mention that I've setup dozens of guitars since I started playing, and I consider myself to be pretty good at it, I've never had any real issues...

Until today. My Explorer has a dead spot at the 12th fret of the G string, so I decided to try a set of D'Addario Nickelwound .11s (normally .10s) to see if it would help any (I use that fret a lot :P)

I was expecting to have to at least re-intonate, and it turns out the action was fine with the thicker strings, so it would be a walk in the park. Until I tried adjusting the intonation.

Both the G and B strings are still too high when fretted, with the saddles wound all the way towards the tailpiece (the G is about 17 cents too high, the B about 10. They do get sharper when the saddles adjusted the other way, so the are working properly it seems.) The high E is perfect at about the middle of the bridge. The low E and A strings are fine as well, but the D is being a real ♥♥♥♥. For the neckwards half of its adjustment, it functions normally, but after moving past halfway towards the tailpiece, it raises the fretted note in pitch again. Over the full range of travel (neck->tail,) it goes from about +11 cents down to +4, then back up to +7/8. Obviously I can't intonate this one right.   ](*,)

Even though I'm using EMG pickups (weak magnets) I tried lowering them away from the strings, but to no avail. I just can't imagine three strings in a set being bad, I've never had a single bad string fro d'addario before.

The saddle positions were pretty typical with .10s on, looking something like this:

__

__                __

__                __

__

I'm really kinda lost here. Y'all know I don't ask for technical help unless I'm desperate; I'm very technically-minded and can figure just about everything out for myself. Halp plz?   [biggrin]