Gibson Brands Forums

to change - or - not to change

Guest CheapShoes

Guest CheapShoes

Hello - I'm still fairly new to my used 07 Epi LP Standard. I normally play a mix of pop syles from country to 70s rock. To me the pickups on the LP are ... somewhat unusual. With clean or edge-of-break up amp settings, they sound rather dry & brittle (dull, lacking chime or harmonic content), but when I hit the gain, or use the OCD box, the bridge sounds fantastic, w/tons of sweeness & harmonics. I can't figure out how this makes sense, unless it's a normal character of LPs. Other guitars I have (not LPs) with Duncan's to high-end Tele PUPs sound somewhat the opposite. They typically sound best with with the amp set cleaner to the edge of breakup w/hair when you turn it up or hit the strings hard. Think 70s pop. But not the Epi LP.

So, anyone else with similar music interests make the same observations? Did you discover a magic PUP adjustment, or resign to using the guitar to where it shines and put it on the bench for the cleaner tunes? Or did you jump straight to swapping the PUPs?

Thanks for any help.

CS,

Hope all is well. As to your Paul, it is kind of hard to diagnose sound according to a written description.

I will say that sound, being relative to the listener, can change with type/age/gauge and height of strings.

Same can be said for pickup height.

Have you tried adjusting your pickup heights? (making an presumption that you have production humbuckers in your Paul.)

I can tell you that I have a "05" Standard and I considered the sound somewhat "muddy" and undefined when playing

clean.

I changed out the electronics and it was a tad better but not much.

I then switched out the production pickups to GFS vintage 59's. The actual sound was not much different...but...

I suddenly had clarity and definition in the sound that was not there before.

Willy