Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Guitar Identification

mcstrums

Hi I'm a newbie to the forum. I could use some help identifying a guitar. I know its a 2005 Gibson thinline archtop. I need to know what model it is. I have scoured the web...nothing..can't even find a pic of it. Would appreciate any help with idenitfying this guitar. Will attempt to post some pics.

I'm no wiz at this, but I'm glad to see the Customer Service Team person chime in here... I'm not sure what he/she'd say, but this guitar just looked "off" to me and I was hesitant to say so.

Pointing out Why is sort of a Catch-22: there were inlay, binding, parts and overall shape issues to my non-expert eye... but being more specific could help the counterfeiters do better! [unsure]

I'm no wiz at this, but I'm glad to see the Customer Service Team person chime in here... I'm not sure what he/she'd say, but this guitar just looked "off" to me and I was hesitant to say so.

Pointing out Why is sort of a Catch-22: there were inlay, binding, parts and overall shape issues to my non-expert eye... but being more specific could help the counterfeiters do better! [unsure]

I build acoustic guitars and know them inside out. I have never built an archtop (yet), but I'm still not convinced its a fake. This thing is very well constructed and plays like a dream. If someone has intentionally built this as a fake, I can't beleive someone with that kind of talent would even waste their time.

I build acoustic guitars and know them inside out. I have never built an archtop (yet), but I'm still not convinced its a fake. This thing is very well constructed and plays like a dream. If someone has intentionally built this as a fake, I can't beleive someone with that kind of talent would even waste their time.

I agree with customer service. The headstock and binding tipped me off to it. The counterfeiters are getting better though.