Gibson Brands Forums

Changing Pickups in an Epi Hollowbody

driver8

I want to change the pickup in my Zephyr Regent, but I've never done it on a hollowbody before. I took off the pickup just to take a look, and there is only one red wire going from the pickup. Shouldn't there be at least two? I don't know a lot about wiring and electronics, so I'm not really sure what's going on. Any words of advice from someone who's done this before?

+1 on Fantana

GoldEpi57CHGPickup.jpg

Inside that wire is a hot wire and a "ground" shielding which acts as an other wire.

Most pickups have one wire coming from them.

Inside that wire can be any thing from "North (hot) and South" , south can also be combined with ground.... to:

North start, north finish, south start, south finish, and ground. (Gives the pickup coil splitting capabilities)

They will still be wrapped up into one wire coming out of the pickup base.

Hope this helps.

Willy

The live and group wires are encased inside the red wire.......

Oh! So simple, thanks. I didn't examine it too closely but just saw the one wire. You're probably right - makes perfect sense.

I guess that leads to my next question, too, which is that the red wire leads to some plastic clip kind of thing. Am I too optimistic to hope I might just be able to hook up the new wires to right before the plastic clip and not have to deal with taking out the pots and everything?

Oh! So simple, thanks. I didn't examine it too closely but just saw the one wire. You're probably right - makes perfect sense.

I guess that leads to my next question, too, which is that the red wire leads to some plastic clip kind of thing. Am I too optimistic to hope I might just be able to hook up the new wires to right before the plastic clip and not have to deal with taking out the pots and everything?