Gibson Brands Forums

new player

renoman1

i am new at guitar I just got my guitar back from being set up and boy what a differance it has made. its easier to play and sounds way better. My questions is this .is pischasing self teach books a DVD,s a good idea or should i take lessons and if so does anyone recomend and good books Or DVD,s Thanks Renoman1

I would recommend a good DVD to start, you can watch it over and over and you can learn a lot from it.

After you can move your fingers and know basic stuff you can take lessons and make the best of them.

The first DVD i bought was this:

http://www.amazon.com/Fender-Presents-Getting-Electric-Beginners/dp/B0000639G7/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1297009280&sr=8-1

I did a basic and intermediate course with my local music shop (they have a music practise room upstairs) and learnt nothing from it. I think dvd are better. Or even just watch youtube video's. Thats how I learnt tricked such as pinched harmonix.

Assuming you find a GOOD teacher, I think lessons would be invaluable. I took lessons for a while from a local "guitar guy" who has played professionally for over forty years, since he was in high school. I learned a lot just sitting and chatting with the guy even during a session where I might not hit a lick. Sometimes it's hard to beat good one-on-one/student-teacher interaction.

DVD stuff would be good, too, and has some obvious advantages over "live' lessons. I would avoid the CD-only courses; sometimes you just need to see what the instructor's fingers are doing.

Research some good local teachers and some good DVD courses. Then, start hittin' it hard. Practice, practice, practice....

The things that have gotten me farthest are: