Gibson Brands Forums

EJ-200 BOOO

Pinchemadcow

Guys and Gals Im New to the Epiphone family and this forum as well, so Id like to say hello. I purchased the EJ-200 not even two months ago at the Guitar Center in San Antonio. I loved it every day since never dropped it, always to the case after playing hell I even named her Lola. Yesterday it developed a fret buzz right on the second and third fret on the high E.I could actually feel the guitar start to "bellow" or grow a bumb on the wood behind the saddle. I called Guitar Center they couldnt help i called several places in San Antonio some with the wort ,rudest , crudest receptionsts ever. any way then I spoke with a guitar tech outta Katy Texas who mentioned that epiphones are known for using cheap wood and that "bellow' is not uncommon. That I should return the guitar to Epiphone and more than likely it would have to be replaced instead of fixed. what have you all heard?

A bit of bellying is, of course, natural. I think it was Norman Blake who said never trust a guitar that doesn't have a belly.

Sometimes extreme bellying is the result of humidity. Other times it can be the result of some structural issue like loose braces or bridge plate. If that is the case I would assume you are covered under the warranty.

If not, you could always try something like a Bridge Doctor to correct the problem (can't speak as to how well they work as I have never used one). You can check them out at a Stew Mac.

Good Luck

I think there are quite a few things to check before you label the guitar "bad" or blame supposedly poor wood...

1) was it ever set up professionally (or knowledgeably) after purchase?

2) what is the neck relief?

3) action at 12th fret?

4) action at nut?

5) how is the guitar stored? in the case, on a stand, climate controlled, etc.?

6) what type of strings?

all of these things could be causing the problem, which could possibly be an easy fix...