Gibson Brands Forums

Laying down some tracks

Not-Too-Late

I've been out of the scene so long that I'm getting a bit overwhelmed by the latest technology. Since getting back to playing, thanks to my wife, friends are flocking to me for help wanting to teach their kids how to play the guitar. I’m actually excited about that. I’m retired, so this will give me something productive to do. So I figured, why not, I’m already teaching my wife. By the way, I have one student lined up that is buying an Epi LP. Smart kid, or should I say, smart parents.

I’ve had some experience with having part ownership of a recording studio with my brother years ago, and I’m beginning to get the itch for laying down a few tracks and mixing them on my PC, or if my brother will allow, go to his place and have him mix it on his system. He still operates the studio in a small way, using Pro Tools. I’m thinking of doing a few recordings so these kids have something to play along with while learning. Nothing too fancy. I could do it at my brother’s place, but I don’t want to have to keep going back and forth all the time, as he lives too far away. So it will have to be a home project . . . on the cheap mind you. I also want to add voice tracks as well (not mine, I'll scare everyone away . . . even the dog [biggrin] ). I was looking at loop pedals, but not quite sure if this idea is doable. Any suggestions please?

Thanks guys!

Cheers

Man, where do I start.

Well, you have a heck of a lot of options. The loop pedal would work great for instrumentals. You could record all kinds of stuff. But then you would have to transfer it to a computer or some other device. And I don't know how it works with vocals. I guess you could use it.