Gibson Brands Forums

How to lower action on my Nighthawk Custom Reissue?

i@jim

Hi All:

As a beginner, I sincerely apologize in advance if this question is completely stupid; I tried searching this forum and could not find the answer. So here goes:

I recently became the lucky owner of a Nighthawk Custom Reissue. I love it dearly, but I want to try lowering the action (to see if that helps with finger/hand strain). I do not have an instruction manual. I did download the generic Epiphone manual however, and I am wondering: are those instructions (essentially just unscrewing the two bridge screws slightly) correct for the Nighthawk?

Thanks in advance for your help/advice.

ij

Hi All:

As a beginner, I sincerely apologize in advance if this question is completely stupid; I tried searching this forum and could not find the answer. [scared][scared][scared]

(****??? Do-it-Yourself thread???*****)

So here goes:

I recently became the lucky owner of a Nighthawk Custom Reissue. I love it dearly, but I want to try lowering the action (to see if that helps with finger/hand strain). I do not have an instruction manual. I did download the generic Epiphone manual however, and I am wondering: are those instructions (essentially just unscrewing the two bridge screws slightly) correct for the Nighthawk?

Thanks in advance for your help/advice.

ij

#1 - Welcome to our Madhouse of advice and camradarie :

Flo-Post-090710.jpg

#2 - Yes, by doing the "righty-tighty, lefty-loosey" theory, tightening will lower your action.

Of course, this depends on how straight your neck is. Sighting down from the Bout end to the nut,

using the strings as a reference staright edge should show you how straight your neck actually is.

Straight is Good, and even just a slight "upbow" (curved torward the front of guitar) is acceptable.

Assuming your neck is good, you'll want to set the "action" to what feels good to you - Epi factory