Gibson Brands Forums

tobaccoburst help :)

notlimhxcx

hi all! forum newbie here. need help in identifying this sweet baby :) im told she's an '82 Japan made epiphone standard. but "published documents" would show that japan epiphone les pauls before '89 does not exist etc, we all know the existing history sheet.. but based on my "research" and comparison with my other MIJ guitars, this seems to be a matsumoku made epi since that company was the one making guitars for many brands at that time.. i compared this with my 1980 aria pro II 3 pup black beauty and it's almost 80% - 90% similar in build quality, esp the tenon inside.. can anyone help me out? thanks much!!

here are the pics..

1.jpg

1b.jpg

1a.jpg

1d.jpg

Thing is Pete is probably one of the best around at doing IDs, and he has been around here for a very long time and is one of the best respected members in this place, he never capitalized anything, he only used bold to emphasize that very, very important point for you. He is also German and the translation can sometimes be a little off, but he does know what he's talking about regardless of the language.

You should be the one checking your attitude, not him.

what attitude have i shown rastus? i joined this forum to gain knowledge in something that i want to learn more about. 2nd, he already did that kind of thing on a new member who was also looking for help on another forum that's why i posted the comment above.

slagged him bigtime? man, excuse me but that aint slagging. if i was to "slag" him, my words would be much like his words. i just reacted to what he posted because he keeps on doing that to newbies and people who are trying to learn something, maybe not here but on another forum. i joined here to search for something and learn but if that's the attitude of the "seniors" and "Best IDers" here, well then i understand now.

EDIT: thanks RTH for your help.