Gibson Brands Forums

Another Funk Track

Tman5293

I was just messing around with some stuff on the guitar today and I started playing something that sounded real funky to me so I thought I record it.

I was making this up as I was playing it and it's a little sloppy but I still think it sounds pretty good. It's a little low on volume so make sure you turn your speakers up a bit:

http://soundcloud.com/tman5293/funk-improve/

As usual, I would love to hear what you guys think about it.

Enjoy! msp_cool.gif

I like it, it gets a wee bit repetitive at a point but it was still enjoyable.

I did notice the repetitiveness myself. Even as I was playing it. Tried changing it up a bit but I kept going back to that same base riff.

You have great ideas and you are very fluid all you need to do is work on your meter. Get a metronome or click track or drum loop. You will be amazed at how much you will tight up your rhythms, specially in funk.

I have a metronome...............................it's been sitting on the same shelf collecting dust for 4 years though...........................msp_unsure.gif

You have great ideas and you are very fluid all you need to do is work on your meter. Get a metronome or click track or drum loop. You will be amazed at how much you will tight up your rhythms, specially in funk.

Sorry but I have to disagree, I never play with a drummer or metronome of any sort and it's taught me how to keep a rhythm going without a metronome/beat.

Sorry but I have to disagree, I never play with a drummer or metronome of any sort and it's taught me how to keep a rhythm going without a metronome/beat.

You are but one person...and i don't know but maybe your timing is not as good as you think it is...:)

MOST people will benefit from playing with a click/metronome.

You are but one person...and i don't know but maybe your timing is not as good as you think it is...:)

MOST people will benefit from playing with a click/metronome.