Gibson Brands Forums

SG neck pocket *SCARY*

BillyBlades

Hi. Im not an engineer but i do appreciate anything sturdy and well built. Upon changing pickups in my sg i saw into the neck joint and even tho both of my sg guitars are holding up fine i remember walking into a local music store as a kid and seeing a vintage sg with a terrible "bow " right at the neck pocket.

Yikes!

I certainly hope this doesnt happen to my sg guitars. Looking into the neck pocket gave me the chills. Scary looking!

I really dont know how it withstands the string tension without literally Ripping the neck right off! Maybe Epi should make them with the more modern neck picket design. Definately not what i would call Solid.

Now dont get me wrong,,, I freakin love my SG s. Maybe moderrn adhesives will keep my guitars from looking like a bow n arrow lol.

Im just thinking for a name "Solid Guitar ",,, it should be more Solid.

There is a quarter inch slab of wood joining the neck that extends under the pickup. The actual neck is glued on that piece and maybe inly 1" on each side of the neck that is glued to the body. It looks flimsy

Btw,

pickups were gfs veh for the bridge and,,,, ready for this?

A gfs brighton 8k ohm for the neck OMMFG does this combination kick major ***!

Something told me to do it and i usually like an educated risk n it paid off! I will get some videos up with my modded marshalls this week!

I left the glossy cherry sg alone because that guitar rocks right outta the box!

But..

This faded sg with its new gfs pickups just kills tonewise now. The veh has that stringy,, bouncy van halen essence with a bright but full tone while the brighton can be sweet or mean with that Brian may sound. Very violin like.

They even had a pickup ring for like 3bux to put the single coil in a humbucker guitar!

Way to go GFS!