Gibson Brands Forums

Cheaper SGs?

iankinzel

Hi all,

I've been playing guitar for about 12 years, and electric guitar for about 2 years. When I went electric, I started on an Epiphone LP - low cost (in case I wanted to go back to acoustic), decent instrument; I'm at a point now though where I feel like I'm ready to move on to something that can be taken seriously as a professional instrument.

Instead of moving up to a Gibson Les Paul, I'm thinking of going for an SG; I use a capo a lot, occasionally (but not often) as high as the 8th fret, so the upper fret access is really important to me. The SG also strikes me as being an extremely comfortable instrument to play - no awkward bolt-on neck joints like on Fender models, nice and lightweight compared to an LP...

However, while I'm able to fork over $400, $500, up to about $750 or so for an instrument, I'm not at a point yet when I can lay down a grand or more for a guitar. I've seen a ton of used Gibson SGs used for as low as $350, generally in the ~$500 range - but, I want to know if the SG Special/Studio/Worn models are going to be at that respectable, professional workhorse level that I'm after. I have absolutely zero doubt about the SG Standard, for example, but I've heard conflicting reports about budget-level Gibsons. (Also, the local shops only seem to stock the more expensive models, so I haven't had a chance to try out the cheaper ones...)

Any input is welcomed and appreciated. I'm also considering an early '80s Ibanez Artist, pending a response from the seller (cracks in the finish - do they go further down, or not?)

IMHO, for what that's worth..."Professional Grade" intruments abound! Epi's are certainly in that

league. The problem is more in "brand" identification, than in practical quality terms. Sure, there

ARE differences, between Epi, and Gibson. But, not as much (again, IMHO), as their price differences