Gibson Brands Forums

Would you rather save a bit of money, or guitar weight?

jblue212

I'm considering an LP Classic. A new 2014 is over 2 grand but AMS has some weighing in at a little over 8lbs. There's one on Ebay that would save me $300, barely used, 2014 model, but it's 9lb 4oz.

I'm new to electric playing (used to my L200 acoustic) and I don't know how I'll feel about having this around my neck for long periods. Is it better to go lighter (and have a warranty) or not pass up a good deal?

I'm considering an LP Classic. A new 2014 is over 2 grand but AMS has some weighing in at a little over 8lbs. There's one on Ebay that would save me $300, barely used, 2014 model, but it's 9lb 4oz.

I'm new to electric playing (used to my L200 acoustic) and I don't know how I'll feel about having this around my neck for long periods. Is it better to go lighter (and have a warranty) or not pass up a good deal?

It is better to have a guitar which you feel comfortable with whether it has a warranty or not.

In my opinion TONE is worth the WEIGHT not to mention more sustain!

I have a 2014 MM ultra thin and amazing super hot p-90s...but it just does not

compare to my LP Classic as far as tone and sustain are concerned.

with the 2014 Classic you can also split the pups for a brighter single coil type sound.

not sure what kind of music you play...but when it comes to Gibson i've learned

spending more money gets you a lot more than just a pretty top.

GO ALL IN... its worth it!msp_thumbup.gif

9 lb. 4 ounces is not bad for a modern LP. I would personally pay the $300 more for the lighter one unless I could play them both, in which case I would pick the one that sounds/plays better. I don't believe heavier equals better tone or even necessarily more sustain. Jimmy Page's #1 LP only weighs like 7.5 lbs.