Gibson Brands Forums

Cheap NAGD Saga

vangoghsear

I went to a little mom and pop music store in search of a very cheap acoustic. I wanted a guitar that I would not be afraid of ruining the look because I want to paint the top.

I am a visual artist and I like to do Trompe l'oeil (I believe the phrase is French for "Fool the Eye") artwork, so I wanted a guitar that I could paint to look like the top was removed and the bridge, Rosette, and pick-guard are being held up by wire and screw eyes mounted through the sides (I have a drawing of my plan I will post later).

What I found is a Saga (both a long tale and a Saga guitar). The guitar is a Flinthill FHG-100. The body wood looked super cheap, like cardboard type cheap, light color, no grain, pretty likely laminate of some sort. The top was so even and smooth I thought it was Formica (but it's wood not a photo). I took it down off the wall and tried to play a G cord and discovered it was missing strings. It was missing strings because it was missing a tuner and had two broken tuners. So I just strummed the three remaining rusty strings and this amazing resonant tone emerged! There was no price marked on it. The owner came out and asked me what I was looking for and I explained. He said he'd sell me that one for $99 including replacing the damaged and missing tuners. I told him if he replaced them all he had a deal. It was more than I wanted to spend, but the tone was really nice so I bought it.