Gibson Brands Forums

An Awesome Feeling

GotTheSilver

I just had a great experience and wanted to share with my forum brothers and sisters. I have been playing guitar for quite a few years, but have never really been very good at soloing. It has always tended to sound like just running up and down scales without being musical. I always had a hard time getting the sound in my head to come out on the guitar and hitting the right notes at the right time.

I mainly play blues and my main guitar hero is B.B. King. Over the last several months, I have been focusing on my soloing - learning my scales better, learning how to use target notes, learning solos by BB and others. I have been noticing over the last few weeks that my soloing has started to change and take on more fluidity and musicality, though still not there yet.

This morning I picked up my J-45 and just started wailing! All of a sudden, it seemed like everything I have been working on just clicked! I was improvising a solo that actually sounded good and very expressive. It was like my mind, fingers and guitar were one! What I was hearing in my head was just pouring out through the guitar, and I started to feel kind of like I was floating. I wasn't thinking about it anymore, it was just happening. What an awesome feeling! This went on for several minutes non-stop.

I think my soloing has reached a breakthrough.

Ahhh... It was an exhilarating feeling and I just had to share! I'm sure others have had this moment before. Please share your breakthrough moment experiences!

Yeah. Love pentatonic scales and 12 bar blues. BB too.

I had a similar feeling a while back when I realized I could play I VIm7 IIm7 V7 (and variations of that) * at various positions on the neck and at the same time freely improvise melodies on the treble strings. It's one of those core harmonic movements.

* For example: Cmaj7 Am7 Dm7 G7 (Em9 A13 Dm9 G13 etc)