Gibson Brands Forums

Which Flying V is this? Any help greatly appreciated.

j.dub

Hi guys;

I am brand new to the Flying V and really don't know a lot about them. I found this one and loved it, so I bought it, but I'm really not sure which V it is. Sam Ash had their "Gibson guy," look at it and he said that V's weren't really his specialty, but he could tell it's definitely from the Gibson factory and is a 1990.

I noticed that it has Pick-up covers and most that I've seen are exposed PU's. I also noticed the headstock is a little longer and more pointy than the new ones. Someone has changed the tuners, but the originals were in the case. Also the case, which supposedly is original, is not like the case of any others that I looked at. It's huge, like an explorer case.

Maybe that's just how they were in 1990, I don't know. Whatever it is, I LOVE it!!

Anyway, the pics are attached. Any help is appreciated. I posted some newby questions here a couple months ago when I first started looking at V's and you guys were all real helpful, so I thought I would try here.

Thanks for your time; have a great day!

post-62565-014994000 1398873455_thumb.jpg

post-62565-087065200 1398873482_thumb.jpg

post-62565-047640600 1398873527_thumb.jpg

Looks like a genuine Gibson Flying V. Perhaps they changed the headstock for the double action trussrod these days - I don't know, just a guess.

I love covered pickups on Vs and well as on Explorers, but I think we all sometimes tend to like the things we don't have over those we got [biggrin]

Not sure what the model is but almost all V's have a headstock that is that pointy, starting in 1957. They have been reissued a number of times and seemed to have pickup covers until the 80's sometime. Gibson usually seems to call them all "Flying V" with some exceptions (faded, Schenker, Government Series, etc.)

11348183275_020151ba9a_b.jpg

In the late 70's to early 80's, they had a shorter, more rounded headstock.

8583865306_2046c0c72f_b.jpg