Gibson Brands Forums

Which SG?!

Valve Mantra

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Gibson having been a Fender player for many years, now I've got a hankering for those low mids.

I'm very much into slimmer necks which I understand can be a problem. I'd definitely like an SG and in particular I'm a big fan of the look of the worn brown aesthetics of the new 2016 Special.

I am accustomed to the necks on the later Highway One Strats; I know the nut width is the same but I expect the 50s neck of the SG to be substantially thicker?

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction, unfortunately I'm in an area with poor opportunity to try out various models. Any suggestions?

Cheers!

Yeah, the '50s necks are thicker but probably will feel flatter to a "F" guy. Good or bad overall feel is subjective.

One thing too, is you've gotta figure that the flatternut, shorter scale and flatter fingerboard give a very different feel regardless.

String choice and playing style also make a difference.

I understand the problem of not being close to a store. Same here.

m

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of Gibson having been a Fender player for many years, now I've got a hankering for those low mids.

I'm very much into slimmer necks which I understand can be a problem. I'd definitely like an SG and in particular I'm a big fan of the look of the worn brown aesthetics of the new 2016 Special.

I am accustomed to the necks on the later Highway One Strats; I know the nut width is the same but I expect the 50s neck of the SG to be substantially thicker?

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction, unfortunately I'm in an area with poor opportunity to try out various models. Any suggestions?

Cheers!

Look for one with a 60's slim taper I am a Fender guy too. When I bought my 2013 LP Trad Pro II I opted for the 60's slim taper neck, it is a good fit for me.

Which SG? Well, I'm totally prejudice toward the '61 reissue, or a 2013 SG Standard.