Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Acoustic Recording question!

mr newhaven

hello everyone!!!!!

i would normally post this in the recording section but lets be honest...it just doesnt get the same kind of traffic as this one does!

here is my question i have a gorgeous L-00 ('01) and i love sitting around strumming it as much as possible...

lately ive been wanting to record some of my practice sessions so that i can hear what it sounds like more objectively and thus improve my playing...

i have audio interfaces that allow me to just plug my electrics directly into my computer but for acoustics i wanted to get a mic and then run the mic into my laptop

(i have an apogee duet firewire interface)

my question is this...what mic do you gentlemen...and gentle women recommend?

by that i mean condensor or dynamic...or ball mic...etc...

how do you guys record your acoustic??

i took up guitar again after an 8 year hiatus about 2-3 years ago and im new to recording in general...because you guys/gals are acoustic experts in my opinion and im sure alot of you record your stuff...HOW DO YOU DO IT????

what is your set-up???

thanks again so much!

reason i ask is because i see some people mic'ing up their guitars thru input jack in the acoustic...but mine does not have electronics...i see others get a stand and mic it up close to strings...whereas other people mic up in the corner (better acoustics??) and sit a little further back

im sure a lot of this is subjective and i will do some experimenting myself but i am curious as to how you guys do it because youve already done the experimenting and i feel as though you can give me a great starting point!

currently i do not have a mic...but i have a studio room set up and acoustic foam being delivered as we speak to cut down on echos...now all i need is a mic and some beers and brown liquor!!!!

any help would be much appreciated!

thanks!

mr newhaven