Gibson Brands Forums

Help Identify this Vintage Guitar

Corpblues

Good morning everyone,

I am a newbie guitar player but coming along.   I love vintage gear but no knowledge of it.  

Yesterday I bought what a local luthier thinks is a beat up 50's LG1.   I have no way to know what it really is.   He said it was a guitar  he bought for the parts.  He had harvested the pickguard and trussrod cover.   He thought the top might be Adirondack red spruce which would make it even older.   He put a bridge and some tuners on it and strung it up for me.   Super nice guy!

The headstock has been butchered.  Someone cut a v notch into the top edge.

I was going to pass but when I played it, it sounds really good.   I mean is sounded good to the point I could not pass it up and I could never afford a good condition gibson.    

Looking inside I can see 8 2180 on the bottom of the neck block. 

Regardless what it actually is, it sounds great and I'm happy with it for what I paid.   But it would be nice to determine what model it is.

FCEFAC54-042C-4877-82F5-1AF51716C697_1_201_a.jpeg

Edited by Corpblues
adding image

They numbered solid body Gibson's like that from 1953 till sometime in 1961,

All solid bodies including lap steel guitars

That is not how they numbered acoustics. I do not Know how they numbered acoustics but someone will chime in.

Edited by Cam in alberta
additional info

Maybe, but it is probably older. It appears to be an LG-3 or stripped-finish LG-2 (headstock appears to have been stripped) with a mangled headstock. The bridge style, with slot-through saddle, plus pickguard shape suggest earlier than 1955. The top has fairly wide grain for Sitka. The tuners are not original, and the headstock has been cut down.

LG's seem to have more of a mix of features than other models in that era.

Could you please take a photo of the number stamped on the neckblock?  These are not always easy to read correctly.