Gibson Brands Forums

Get real

Emmitt

first of all I like gibson and would love to have one.   However i don't have an extra $3000 laying around to buy one .   I graduated from college in 2004 and my wife bought me a guitar as a graduation gift because I had always wanted to play one.  I taught myself how to play and it sounds great.   Guess what kind it is.  Its a gibson/epiphone.   Its made to gibson specs and inspected by gibson luthiers.  So the seller was correct calling it a gibson because it was made by gibson. 

Hey Emmitt,  weclome to the forum.  You don't have to spend $3000 to get a nice acoustic.   and Gibson are not the only makers that make guitars in that price break.  Martin and Taylor have plenty that are $3k and up. 

The way Gibson satisfies the  mid-range costs and below market is with their Epiphone Brand. 

Martin and Taylor do the same,  Difference is they slap their logos on imports.  which is what Gibson's Epiphone line up is.

Is there a difference with a USA made Gibson to a Asian made Epiphone?  I think everyone who knows the ropes will tell you yes... 

If you are happy with the Epi  then play it till the cows come home. 

Edited by kidblast

Hello kidblast.  Don't get me wrong I know that gibson are leaps and bounds above epiphone.  However there are some on here who act a as if their very existence depends upon owning nothing but gibson.  In other words they try to impress  everyone by saying i won't buy anything but gibson.  Epiphone are not just plywood guitars.   Any way i meant no harm with my little rant.  Really just find a guitar you like to play which sounds good and don't worry about the name on headstock or where it was made.

3 hours ago, Emmitt said: