Gibson Brands Forums

Help me date my 335

differentsky

Hi there,

I bought this es-335 TD 3 years ago. It was sold as a 1968, all original, and came with a premium price tag. It has an amazing tone, plays great. The only minor downside is the narrow neck (40 mm) which is not ideal for me, but I can deal with it.

But I was having second thoughts, since the seller had hidden a few things from me (the guitar has been partially sprayed somewhere down the line, and the bridge had gone flat a bit, and a new one was needed to  avoid playability/intonation issues).  So I decided to have a close look at the serial number -you know how tricky it is to identify Gibsons from the late 60s. The serial number is 907 393. And it seems to point at a 1970 model!

So that's a real issue for me, because it swings the guitar from pre-Norlin into Norlin era... I'm no historical expert, but for instance, the guitar has no volute at the back of the headstock. I've read this is a typical Norlin move. Here's a few pics, could you guys help assess the year? What should I look for to determine the year precisely? Thanks a lot,

main.jpg

335 garage 2.jpeg

tete.jpg

Edited by differentsky
mispelling

Mine is a 1967 & looks very similar to yours. If you could get a look at your pot codes with a dental mirror or a WiFi Borescope that would help date it. Example 1376847, 137=CTS, 68=year pot was made & 47=week of year pot was made. Also, it looks like your bridge has nylon saddles & that helps identify it.

0BeEbcp.jpg

10 minutes ago, Grog said:

Mine is a 1967 & looks very similar to yours. If you could get a look at your pot codes with a dental mirror or a WiFi Borescope that would help date it. Example 1376847, 137=CTS, 68=year pot was made & 47=week of year pot was made. Also, it looks like your bridge has nylon saddles & that helps identify it.

0BeEbcp.jpg

Hey Thanks! I'm gonna try that over the week-end.

You are obviously not a 'player'...but a 'collector'.