Gibson Brands Forums

Flat Wounds for a 175 - Recommended?

Mr. Robot

My guitar tech is encouraging me to go into unchartered territory and set up my ES 175 with flat wound strings.

I have never used them before. He says that it will significantly enhance the tone of my 175, although he acknowledged that they will go dull within a few weeks - but never corode.

He will have to adjust the neck as the tension is apparently higher.

Any advice or comments would be appreciated my friends

If you've never used flats, you are in for a surprises, both good and bad.

Flats are mellow. They just don't have the brightness of round wounds at all. On the good side, you have no idea how smooth they are under the fingers. Serious 'wow' here. No finger squeak either.

D'Addario Chromes are a good choice and won't break the bank. If you want to go Cadillac, try Thomastik Infield. They're expensive but worth evey penny.

If you've never used flats' date=' you are in for a surprises, both good and bad.

Flats are mellow. They just don't have the brightness of round wounds at all. On the good side, you have no idea how smooth they are under the fingers. Serious 'wow' here. No finger squeak either.

[/quote']

I agree... and will ad this:

They are not for everyone, but they are nice to have if you have more guitars.

I installed them in a jazz guitar I owned (what I mean is it was suposed to be made to play jazz... not that I know much about the style [crying] ) and as ksdaddy said, they were really smooth... wow it's like playing a completely different instrument. But yes, you lose all the brightness and at the time my playing demanded brightness and attack (which I think is really lacking with those strings).