Gibson Brands Forums

Humidifier question

Danielle

Hey there every one

I have a new acoustic Guitar in my collection now, its a "Gibson Hummingbird made in Montana, and it came with a Humidifier , I live on the east coast where the humidity has been running in the low 30 recently I have been refilling it once a week is that the recommended time or should I do something different . This is my first year caring for a valuable guitar.

Any thoughts on the subject would be very welcome

Danielle

Hi Danielle....

Welcome and big congrats on your new bird!

What you need to know is what the humidity level in your house or more importantly, the room you keep your guitar in. I live in Minnesota and during the winter with the furnace running constantly, the humidity in my music room drops to around 20-22% RH. I keep track of it with a small $7.00 hygrometer I purchased at Walmart. (They are in the outdoor thermometer section). It is small enough to keep in my guitar cases or it has a magnet on the back and I can keep it out in the room. Every so often I will leave it in one of my cases to monitor the humidity for a day. If my guitars are above 40%, I am ok. At 30% you most certainly need humidity in your guitar. I also keep at least one or two additional humidifiers in each case (depending on space) and only that way can I get the humidity up to around 40-45% in the case. Again, during the winter, I keep my guitars stored in the cases as there is no way for me to keep my whole house between 40-60% RH which is where guitars are happiest and have the least chance to crack.