Gibson Brands Forums

Help with Songwriter deluxe

wisdoms_son

I just purchased a barely used Gibson Songwriter Deluxe. It is the cutaway model. I am trying to find out what the guitar has in it for a saddle, nut, and bridge pins. The paperwork says it constructed in 2007. Any help anyone? Trying to decide if I need a bone or Tusq?

Hi. Welcome to the forum. I have the same model, same year.

The nut and saddle are tusq. The bridge pins are plain old fashioned plastic. I've had mine for 2 years now and never felt the need to change any of the above.

Hope you like the new bat. Be sure to post your impressions, good and bad, and some pics. I love mine.

In case Gilliangirl misses this thread, what was the first song you played on it?

Thanks for all the advice. I'm new here and this is my first Gibson. I'm am loving it. Had a Martin DC16 and this thing blows it out of the water in my opinion. I play this at the church I am a pastor at. The first song I played was How He Loves Us by the David Crowder Band.

Is it worth switching out the bridge pins or does it really make that much of a difference? Everything else sounds good the way it is.

Any advice on which strings might sound better or what gauge?

The thinking behind the materials makes sense to me from a Gibson point of view:

Pins = plastic

Saddle = Tusq

Nut = bone

Of the three, the easiest to replace are the pins, next the saddle and finally the nut (takes more than layman's skill). So having the most difficult part to replace have the best material down to the easiest part to replace being plastic, I think Gibson made the right choices.

BTW: Mine are all bone now and I couldn't be happier.

Thanks for all the advice. I'm new here and this is my first Gibson. I'm am loving it. Had a Martin DC16 and this thing blows it out of the water in my opinion. I play this at the church I am a pastor at. The first song I played was How He Loves Us by the David Crowder Band.