Gibson Brands Forums

ES-339 Neck - choices and dimensions

MediaMan

I will soon be purchasing my first Gibson, likely the ES-339. I will be trying out the ES-335 as well to know for sure ( love the 335 as well but it may be too big for me)

On the ES-399, I am of course aware of the two neck choices and will try them both, but I know my limitations and, as a relative beginner, I know the subtleties may be lost on me. I have seen the two necks described as :

- 59 NECK = FAT= ROUND= HEFTIER = chunkier neck

- 30/60 = 60s neck = THIN = SLENDER = SLIM = WIDE feel of the 60's Gibsons = .030" deeper?

I find those descriptions confusiing !! And I suspect these look the same to the untrained eye.

3 QUESTIONS:

1) Which one is WIDER across the fretboard? . Is it the 30/60 re 'wide feel' ?

2) Which is thicker/deeper ( top of fretboard thru to back of fretboard) ? . I had assumed it was the 59 neck ('heftier/chunkier), whereas the 30/60 is 'thin'.....but then the 30/60 is also .03 inches 'deeper'.

3) A picture is worth a thousand words ... Are there any pics or sketches, or schematics, where one can visually see the comparitive differences between the two necks, re width, depth, shape, etc??

I don't think you'll get a clear answer off Gibson on this as I think necks are hand finished and no two are the same. My fat neck 339 is a D shape in section and to describe it as a fat neck is I think a bit misleading. It's a fuller neck in your hand but no way a baseball bat. It's feet up and a beer time here now but tomorrow I'll take some measurements for you. If you can, it would be best to go to a dealer and find out what suits you best. I don't have a Gibson dealer here so I had to buy mail order.

As I understand it, no difference in width, just in the carve of the neck.

And basically, a flatter neck will feel wider because it lays flatter, an feels wider in your palm, more like a paddle.