Gibson Brands Forums

Pickup Ring Height?

Fadedepi

Hi All,

Today I received a pair of replacement rings from Guitarfetish. I want to use them on my G-400. Checking them out, I noticed they are different heights than the stock Epi rings. Neck ring is not as tall. (1/16th shorter at both ends) The bridge ring is taller. (1/16th taller at both ends) I know it's not much, but, will this make any difference in the install (Pup height?) or sound? Obviously it will make a difference with the mounting screws. (more threads needed at the neck to tighten, less threads needed at the bridge to tighten)

Anyone got experience with this?? I don't want to put them on and f*** something up!!

Thanks, Fe.

I used rings from GF and they were slightly different than the stock ones but worked fine. A minor difference in height shouldn't be a problem - and of course you'll have to adjust the pickup height after installation.

Thanks Guys,

I have no experience with this, (Duh) Is the pup height adjusted by the center screws on the sides of the ring or are there internal screws?

Guess I just better go for it! More questions to follow.... maybe.

Thanks, Fe.

Thanks Guys' date='

I have no experience with this, (Duh) Is the pup height adjusted by the center screws on the sides of the ring or are there internal screws?

Guess I just better go for it! More questions to follow.... maybe.

Thanks, Fe.[/quote']

Screws at the four corners simply attach the pickup ring to the body. The screws on each side of the pickup covers in the middle adjust the height (turn right=up, turn left=down)

Hope you're being a **** Glenn ;^)

....I think he'd figured that out 8-[

Joking asside, [and though they're obviously no big deal] pup rings can be a minefield for the inexperienced.

We soon learn that rings come in all shapes and sizes.