Gibson Brands Forums

Where Are My Manners? New Wilshire Owner!

intellivised

I joined this forum about a week ago to ask some technical questions as I'm new to the blood and guts side to my guitars... but I realized that I haven't had the manners to say hello...

...so hello! I'm a brand new Epiphone Wilshire re-issue owner. This is my second Epiphone. I used to have a translucent purple Les Paul that took a suicide dive off of it's tuning pegs and hit a coffee table on the way down... I couldn't be more stoked with having a new instrument. I got it to be my live show guitar and my new band's first gig is coming up in a few weeks, so it's quickly becoming a race against the clock to get the first wave of upgrades in.

My initial impressions are that this guitar is a very strange bird indeed (but the same could be said about me) and I'm having a bit of a hard time figuring out what's what but thats proving to be part of the fun. My big issue right now is figuring out what capacitors to buy to go with the tone pots and where to get a replacement/back-up pickguard. I have some mad scientist plans for this guitar.

The guitar itself is really fun to play. I'm reserving tone comments until I get my amplifiers new pre-amp tubes.

If you folks are interested I'd be more than willing to post sound/video/pics (I'm a media professional by day) as I go as I make my Wilshire a Frankenshire...

Welcome to the forum.............yes, pics are always a bonus to us.

there should be lots of threads devoted to upgrades in the search engine........mostly for Les Pauls, but the Wilshire has 2 humbuckers, right?

as for a pickguard, and some sage advice, try PMing Twang.......he makes guards, and works on Epis.

Mr. Twang has been very helpful so far. The fact that this Wilshire seems to be a Musicians Friend/Guitar Center only joint and the pickguard is very non-standard made me nervous about doing an upgrade... If the guard cracks during routing well that's no good!