Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone G-310.. just guitar or "hi-performance pack?"

byaccident

I have a friend selling a new, in box, Epiphone G-310 for $115 that he won in a contest and doesn't need. That got me shopping around, and I found the "Hi-performance" pack for $250 with the G-310 and a Valve Junior Combo Amp at Guitar Center. I know a lot of you recommend saving up for the G400, but $250 is the most I can spend and it would take me a very long time to save up more then that. So my question is, which do you guys think is the better deal? Or do you think I should go with something else entirely? I'm just learning to play, but I already have a Epi Les Paul Jr. with a cheap practice amp. Just trying to take advantage of the only chance I'll get to buy something new for a long time, so any suggestions would be greatly valued and appreciated!

The G-310 sell for $250 by itself, so the amp is a "bonus" in this case. However, IMHO the G-310 isnt really worth $250 by itself, so its a tough call. If you really want that Valve Jr., then go for it. I hear they are great. It's probably better than the amp you have now. But if you are happy with your current amp, get the guitar from your buddy. $115 is a great value for a new 310. I paid $130 for mine used in near mint condition and was worth every penny.

EDIT: Ok, i just did some math..UGH. If you pay $250 for the package and minus $169 for the retail price of the amp, that puts the guitar at $81. Clearly the better deal. Of course, if you factor in taxes, add another $15 or so.

This may convince you that the 310 ain't so bad:

http://www.everythingsg.com/articles/mahoganyrush.htm

Why not use the package deal to bring the guy down in price a bit to, say, $90. Tell him you're getting the amp anyway. The price drop is no loss to him if if he got it for nothing. Wave the cash in front of him. If he won't budge, walk away buy the package.

This may convince you that the 310 ain't so bad: