Gibson Brands Forums

Wildkat with Dirty Fingers

frostbyte

G'day all,

Well, I'm new to the forums and I've just ordered myself a wildkat which hopefully will be delivered in about two weeks. What I'm wondering is if anyone knows if the dirty fingers pickups will fit into wildkat? Would it be best to slot two of them? Or just one, and if one which position?

Also, I'm a complete noob on these things, I've only ever played acoustics and stock and my old stock standard ibanez.

Thanks in advance.

Alas, no, Wildkats have Dogear P-90 pickups, whereas the Dirty Fingers are full humbucker-sized. P90s are longer and narrower, thus the Dirty Fingers will not fit.

Without modifying the guitar body, you can only swap in other Dogear P-90s (or P-90-size pickups, such as Lace's offerings) or a mini-humbucker in a suitable Dogear-style mounting ring.

Welcome, and I'm sure you'll enjoy your Wildkat.

1. The Wildkat has P90 pickups, which are longer and thinner than any humbucker type pickups, like dirty fingers, so the holes will be the wrong size and shape. You'd have to do some carpentry, and fabricate some sort of surround, which IMHO wouldn't look good.

2. Dirty fingers in a semi-hollow? You're going to play metal on it?

To be honest, my favorite style is punk, I love Rancid, DK's, NoFX etc... but i still love listening to other types of music, especially some of the older blues styles. What i really want to do is have a guitar thats got my own sound. I'm not the best player, but I don't care about that [cool]

I understand what you say about the humbucker style's, I think I'll just keep them as is for a while untill I do some more research.

Cheers for the help.

I understand what you say about the humbucker style's' date=' I think I'll just keep them as is for a while untill I do some more research.

Cheers for the help.[/quote']

Excellent idea...and welcome to the gaggle. [cool]

I see what your trying to do, but a wildkat is not the guitar to do it on.