Gibson Brands Forums

1958 Korina flying v re-issue

fuzzybutt

anyone here own one? what is it like as compared to the Gibson korina v? how different is it....besides the 6400 dollar price difference? i am by no means a professional player and since a nasty head injury afew years ago i've basically had to re-learn playing the guitar, i'm just a hacker that enjoys playing around the house, once in a while jamming with friends but i have no intention of playing out in front of people anymore. and are there any Epi flying v's that sell for even less than 499? as soon as i can get my large air compressor sold i am looking at getting a flying v

There are no Epiphone Vs with a lower RRP. However, Epiphone's Gothic series of guitars don't tend to sell too well, so it may be that you can find one with the price knocked down to clear it out, unlikely as it may be.

I can tell you that Epiphone's '58 Vs and Explorers are some of their best-made guitars. My Explorer is amazing in terms of quality and character, and I've played a few Vs from the same era ('04) that were every bit as good. In fact, as soon as my financial position betters itself, there will definitely be a new Gothic V in my collection to match my Explorer. [biggrin]

My 58 Korina was my first Epiphone and i now own 4 so l'd say that the V got me started on Epis and it did that by showing me what a great Guitar they could produce for the $.MIne is a 2000 from Korea but i recently played a new one from China and found it completely up to snuff although i like the neck on mine a little better. Still all in all ,,i totally recommend this guitar so ,,,GO for it i say To see mine in action cheack out my Youtube channel..Maniakmusik

MY Noisemakers:

Epiphone 2008 Sg Custom Prophecy GX

Epiphone 2003 Korina G-400 Sg

Epiphone 1998 Korina Explorer

Epiphone 1998 Korina Flying V

BC Rich 1981 Maple Mockingbird Handmade

Ibanez 1977 Les Paul

Ibanez 1976 Stratocaster

Gibson 1968 Les Paul Custom

Charvel Fretless Bass