Gibson Brands Forums

Dot on the way - New member

gknuck

Hey everyone;

Great to find this forum. I've been shopping for a few months now agonizing over an Epi Dot or possibly a Ibanez AF75. However I have a couple of acoustics which one is a 1980 Epiphone "000" size PR600-ASB that was made in Japan, is a beautiful sunburst and plays great so the Dot won out.

My other acoustic is a 1971 Grammer G10 Brazilian Rosewood beauty made in Nashville-TN that plays and sounds like a dream. I bought it in 1977 for $200 and had it ever since. Worth about $1800 now, wish I had bought several more back then at $200. :)

Now I'm an owner of a 2003 Ebony Dot that looks to be in excellent shape.

It has the hard shell case, and the owner had the stock PUs replaced with Seymour Duncans, a Jazz SH2 in the neck and a JB SH4 in the bridge. Since I'm new to the electric scene are these pickups fairly decent pickups. I'll be playing some gospel, blues, and bluegrass. Though I do have the acoustic axes for the bluegrass.

I'm hoping I didn't get hurt on the price?

I picked it up online for $250.

If it was made in 2003 would that mean it was made in China?

I don't have the serial number yet as it's been shipped out today to me, so I should have more details after Tuesday or Wednesday.

Can't wait to get it and see how it plays, the ones I played in the stores played great. This is my very first semi-hollow body, and my first electric since 1970.

Can someone suggest a decent amp for the Dot in the $150 range or under?

Sorry for the long post.

Thanks and I'm glad to find the forum.

Gary

1) Welcome!

2) The Duncan Pickups are quality.

3) If your Dot is in good shape and plays like it should, then you definitely did good for $250 (especially with the case).

4) There are tons of good little amps in that price range. It pretty much depends on the sound you want and how loud you need the amp to be.