Gibson Brands Forums

Since we are on the subject of "shredding."

duane v

I've been playing trumpet since the 2nd grade, and by the time I was in 6th grade I was able to scale up to a G above high C with ease, and eventually became proficient playing in the upper register by the time I entered high school.... I was considered a trumpet shredder..... I was always a better trumpet player than guitar player, well because I studied privately for 8 years, which begs the argument I probably should have taken some guitar lessons at some point [biggrin]

Anywhoo, here's my favorite trumpet shredder [thumbup]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAFu7USo54U

I went to my friend's jazz gig, and the girl playing alto sax was shredding. She had this two minute solo and she started doing fingertaps on the keys with both hands, it was the most amazing thing I had ever seen. Some of those cats are amazing players and don't get the respect they deserve

I went to my friend's jazz gig, and the girl playing alto sax was shredding. She had this two minute solo and she started doing fingertaps on the keys with both hands, it was the most amazing thing I had ever seen. Some of those cats are amazing players and don't get the respect they deserve

One thing about jazz it's an acquired taste. The average ear has trouble deciphering everything that is going on. Also it takes years and years and years of practice to play in a jazz band, so it's not very obtainable for musicians just starting out.... which is why we have rock n roll [biggrin]