Gibson Brands Forums

To everyone who has the Tribute model...

bjones1972

I have the Cherry Burst finish...has anyone else noticed that the binding around the body has a yellowish tint to it? Is this supposed to look this way? This is the first LP I've ever owned, so I'm kind of new to the world of the LP guitar.

Welcome

I have a 1959 (the same in some respects) it also has a slightly yellowish colour to the binding, I would class it as "Cream" tho. This is the standard binding colour found on GIBSONS, I will say tho that on normal Epi Les Pauls they have a lighter cream colour to them

Bjones,

Welcome to the forum....

How 'bout some pics?

As to the binding. I don't know about the Tribute. (wish I had one) What I can tell you is that I do have a LP Standard from 2005. It is a blue burst. The bindings on mine were somewhat yellowed. (aged looking)

Many of the same ones that year where bleach white. Personally, I like the the slightly aged (cream) look.

But, to each their own.

The bindings on mine have just sightly less of an aged look than my 76 Gibson Custom.

Willy

Ok..so my next question: How can I use my serial number on the Tribute to figure out where and when my guitar was made? And as for pics...well, I'll have to figure out how to upload...the board for some reason doesn't like Flickr.

Ok..so my next question: How can I use my serial number on the Tribute to figure out where and when my guitar was made? And as for pics...well, I'll have to figure out how to upload...the board for some reason doesn't like Flickr.

YYMMFFRRRRR -- new model codes, no letter prefix

Beginning 2008-09 models are appearing w/o a letter prefix to i.d. the factory. Based on what is reported so far, it appears that the serial code may be:

YY = first two digits = year of manufacture

MM = second two digits = month of manufature

FF = third two digits = factory i.d. where made -- the factory code #s identified so far are shown in red print below