Gibson Brands Forums

Full "11" tone at low volume

Shaker

I am a hobbyist and I play at home. But, I really like the sound of an LP/SG played through a Marshall amp, as heard on many songs recorded in the late 60's and early 70's. Realistically, I will not be able get a full/half stack and turn up all the way up. I need to make 10 much quieter, not louder.

Most of the time, I play through headphones hooked up to an amp modeler gizmo. I would like to know others may be doing to get that big sound at a low volume. Headphones are good but I don't feel the sound in my stomach.

Some of the options that I can think of are

* A digital modeling amp (Line 6 POD, V Amp, etc)

* An analog simulator pedal (Sans Amp,etc)

* A very low wattage tube amp

* A tube amp with an attenuator

Any suggestions/advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

I am a hobbyist and I play at home. But' date=' I really like the sound of an LP/SG played through a Marshall amp, as heard on many songs recorded in the late 60's and early 70's. Realistically, I will not be able get a full/half stack and turn up all the way up. I need to make 10 much quieter, not louder.

Most of the time, I play through headphones hooked up to an amp modeler gizmo. I would like to know others may be doing to get that big sound at a low volume. Headphones are good but I don't feel the sound in my stomach.

Some of the options that I can think of are

* A digital modeling amp (Line 6 POD, V Amp, etc)

* An analog simulator pedal (Sans Amp,etc)

* A very low wattage tube amp

* A tube amp with an attenuator

Any suggestions/advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

[/quote']