Gibson Brands Forums

Late 70's maple neck standards.....

vexorgtr

I own a '79 maple neck LP Standard... I know for a few years the Maple neck was fitted OEM on the standard LP. What years were these? I've also seen a 78' with one too.

Despite people liking to dump on the 70's guitars, this one is quite nice. The serial puts it in January of 79... and the pickups are stamped with a Dec 78' date... makes sense. This critter should be all original. I'm the second owner, and the gent I got it from never modded it.

Altough many dislike Norlins, I really wish I could put my hands on one. As far as maple is concerned, I personally think it's much more reliable for necks than mahogany. A guitar with maple-neck stays better in tune, and the neck is much more resistant to changes of the environmental conditions, than mahogany. I think - but I am not an expert - maple was used for necks on all Les Pauls since it's reissue in 1968, until the 80s(?).

I think the LP standard went through about a 3 year run where Maple was the norm... 78-80 is what I think... can't verify it, and nobody will answer me straight.

My veteran Gibson dealer did tell a few stories about those years. Mahogany necks were the norm on LP's for a long darn while, and the headstocks were at an angle of 17 degrees I believe... If you set one down on the floor, the headstock will hold the body off the ground. This was a problem when drunken rock and rollers would drop their guitars off the stands, and SNAP.. another dead headstock... Norlin's ideas were to Volute the neck for stregnth, and reduce the headstock angle... this helped with the headstock breakage... Then problems sourcing good quality mahogany led them to start with maple necks, and the extra wide heastocks... it made for a strong neck, but by this time, the guitar was critiqued for "Not sounding like a LP" anymore.... Thus, it was eventually retured to the earlier woods and headstock angles.