Gibson Brands Forums

Where Did You Sleep Last Night

saturn

I've never done a Poll before, so i hope I did it right.

It sounds like the Leadbelly is all major chords where Nirvana sounds like the 1 chord is minor :-k Key wise, the minor chord makes more sense to me, especially since the bass walks down through a G, not G#.

Edit: I guess I should post the links, huh? #-o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQ-Nox_uN9A&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blI2dXHyBj0&feature=related

I've gotta go with Leadbelly. As far as I can tell he did the first recorded versions that got "out" very much, although it's a piece that one way or another dates back before 1900, apparently originally from Appalachia.

Bill Monroe did a Bluegrass version that in ways is quite similar the the Leadbelly version I first heard.

The Monroe version in ways would be my favorite, but I've done variations of the Leadbelly 12-string version off and on since the summer of '63.

m

I probably shouldn't have used the term "better", but maybe "which do you prefer"...

And after listening a little closer, I think the Leadbelly walks down through a Major 3rd where the Nirvana walks through a Minor 3rd....that makes more sense either way...

One thing about the Leadbelly version that kinda hits me from my own childhood is that I read he wanted the 12-string because it was kinda like piano.

In the early 50s I remember plenty of informal country musician get-togethers for a dance here and there. Without a PA, and usually without drums, it was heavy on the piano pounding out chords and providing the rhythm base for a pretty much all-instrumental thing with occasional and usually group vocals to add to "volume" just as baroque added and subtracted instruments for a lotta dynamics. Those 10-finger chords tended to be major even if you might have thought "minor" in a song.

m

Good poll, makes a guy have to think.