Gibson Brands Forums

identity crisis

blindboygrunt

Looks like definite crack in bridge, you can see it in other photo also. Also some type damage to body infront of bridge?

And the neck join looks kind of suspicious to me also??? I ain't no expert though.... would this worry anyone else (the neck join and cracks in binding)?

Love the look of the burst though, and overall looks in good condition, be interesting to see what it ends up going for.

The crack in the bridge looks to me as a trick of the light, although I'm not 100% sure.

The neck joint could be an issue also, although it is normal that around the neck joint the finish does let go many times, because it's the most difficult spot to finish the guitar, because of the difficult corners.

I am not an expert on this era of Gibby acoustics, so I can't say what it is supposed to have in regards to shading/paint or bridge, but I noticed that the only part that is black or dark is the neck joint.

To me it looks like a crack in the bridge, and I don't see where it could be a shadow.

But, the bridge and the neck joint add up to neck set issues. Bridges tend to be weaker when they are thin or have been shaved down, and it also seems from the pics (hard to tell) that the finish everywhere looks pretty good except for the neck joint.

Interesting companion story - sounds a bit wacky - and a bit on the far side of right.

I would would want an in-person inspection of that one. As mentioned previously, the bridge looks cracked, the finish has popped off along the front edge of the bridge and the neck joint is dicey.