Gibson Brands Forums

how to get past your barriers

Ive been playing for over 25 yrs. And i just seem to hit a wall and cant get past it. For some reason i just cant get my head or fingers wrapped around lead guitar ability. You would think that after 25+ yrs id be able to shred like a mother f**ker. Well I dont.... id make a pretty good rhytm guitarist at best. I just can seem to break through that rhythm guitarist barrier. Which has become ever more frustrating / discouraging.

Has anybody else experienced this?

If you had this problem at one point how did you manage to get passed it?

What techniques methods did you use to break your barrier?

Thanks,

Ive been playing for over 25 yrs. And i just seem to hit a wall and cant get past it. For some reason i just cant get my head or fingers wrapped around lead guitar ability. You would think that after 25+ yrs id be able to shred like a mother f**ker. Well I dont.... id make a pretty good rhytm guitarist at best. I just can seem to break through that rhythm guitarist barrier. Which has become ever more frustrating / discouraging.

Thanks,

This is very subjective but you are going to have to work hard. I too played rhythm for a long time thinking I'd never do any good lead.

But I knew that all good classical musicians are 'scale monsters' and if it was good enough for them it was a good enough place for me to start. So I began to learn major scales...which turn out to be minor scales and dominant 7th scales as well in music theory though I didn't realise that at the time. Doing this will also get you into arpeggios of the chords you already know.

You must train your ear to hear the lead stuff in order to have any chance of playing it. I started with simple blues licks in E - learnt the E minor pentatonic then moved it up 5 frets to A and figured out exactly what finger to use on what fret and not to barre it.