Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson J45 Custom question

stevecor1

My name is Steve and I just joined the forum. I have been playing guitar for 45 years. Left it for awhile and got back into it recently.

I just bought a Gibson J45 Custom. I really like the look and the tone. The one thing that confuses me about this guitar is that it has an ebony fretboard and a rosewood bridge. Usually, the bridge is made of the same material as the fretboard. Does anyone know why this was done? Just curious....

Welcome to the forum Steve :)

I've a J45 Custom myself. Nick is right about the inconsistencies... I don't think it makes Gibson bad, just more interesting! Gives us lot something to talk about on here haha.

I 'think' mine has a rosewood fretboard - not sure though. Silly question... How do you tell?

Thanks guys, I appreciate the welcome and your replies. I always wanted a J45 and finally got one :)

There is a well known luthier near me that builds stunning guitars and repairs vintage guitars as well. The last guitar I saw him restoring was a 1943 Gibson J45.....beautiful!!!! When I showed him my guitar, the bridge not being the same wood as the fretboard really bothered him. He suggested the bridge be dyed ebony saying it wouldn't affect the value of the guitar because it is still the original bridge but the aesthetic of the guitar would look correct. Still thinking about it. I seriously love this guitar...the tone is amazing! Down the line I'd like to get a 1957 J45! Well, that's my goal anyway. Let's see if money cooperates! LOL

Hairy Dave.....Ebony is a much darker wood (looks black) than rosewood. If you have a rosewood bridge as well, then that makes complete sense. When I bought my guitar the salesman told me that it was the last one they were getting in with an ebony fretboard. All future fretboards would be rosewood.