Gibson Brands Forums

Wildkat... Wow!!

verhfrank

I finally pulled the trigger on a transparent orange WildKat and... man o' man!! Out of the box I took it to a gig that night thinking I'd use it for a song or two, just to get an idea... Well, we did five sets and I never touched my Strat or my Dot (ouch!) This is indeed one of the best guitar purchases I've ever made! The guys in the band loved it ('sounds 'brattier' than the Dot... cool') and I got looks from patrons all night ('what the *&%$ is that!?'). The only complaint I have is that, with more aggressive picking the E-string keeps slipping out of the saddle. Would a string tree take care of that? Is it common to change out the bridge and replace it with a roller-type bridge? Someone here also mentioned replacing the nut with a Graphtech type nut... This is actually my first P-90 Bigsby-equipped guitar and I feel like a complete novice. But I do believe I'm hooked! Anyone considering one of these, I say 'go for it!' You will not regret it!

Thanks guys! Gotta' go play now!...

An orange one; new ??

Got mine last year on special order from Sweetwater

Verhfrank, congrats on the 'Kat. They really are great guitars for the money. I've not had any of the issues you describe, but then again, I'm not a real agressive "picker". I have 3 guitars with Bigsby's and none have a roller bridge. I don't have any tuning issues with any of them either.