Gibson Brands Forums

Not so much playing tips, but singing tips, needed!

I've been playing guitar for about seven years, and I play in several different bands. One thing that I've always had trouble with, but really have to get better it is singing. The singer and rhythm guitarist of one of my bands has been pushing me to start singing, and I actually got over my fear to sing one song on the last gig we played. Apparently I can hit the right notes well enough that people don't cover their ears and run away, but I know I've got to get better.

First off, I have a huge fear of singing. I don't know why, because I mostly got over stage fright a long time ago and have played guitar in front of audiences of thousands of people. But singing terrifies me. I think it's because there's such a huge gap between my hardly passible singing skills and much better guitar skills.

Second, I think I sound weak. Maybe it's a confidence thing, but even when I try to belt it, I just sound like a little girl. (I'm 20, and a girl, so that's actually probably something normal.) Is there a way to actually practice that like a guitar technique to get better at it?

I could really use any advise all you people who weren't a natural born singer, but learned, have for me.

The one thing I found that really helps tune in my voice is acapella singing. After you find the keys that your range can work with, or strumming out the first few chords of a song, I'll sing it through unaccompanied. As for 'belting out'...can't handle that anymore. When Katy Perry sings out she sounds like a 20 year old girl, so I wouldn't worry about that. Soft, low vocals help me stretch out my pipes and even helps with my falsetto, which I always had. Go deep.

I'm too chicken to sing out, so only friends, family and dogs get the dubious pleasure.