Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Question

bscha

Hello everybody. I am a electric guitar noob and have what may be a silly question. I have had gibson acoustics for years and love them, especially a my J45. Well, for christmas this year my wife bought me a beautiful Les Paul Traditional 2013 in honey burst. I love the guitar, but here is my question. When plugged in to my amp, the guitar has a buzz when you are not touching the strings. As soon as you touch anything metal (including the strings) the buzz goes away. My question is, is this normal. Like I said, I am new to electric guitars. When this situation occurs on my acoustic it is a bad ground and gets repaired. Thanks in advance for the wisdom from this board!

Sounds like it's a grounding problem.

Check the wiring , make sure you don't have any cold solder joints on the ground connections to the pots or at a ground point off the output jack.

Check the wiring on the output jack.

Check wiring on pup selector.

Check all solder joints.

If all seems well you could shield the cavity as with a strat.

Shielding is possible and useful but not required in my opinion. The behaviour seems basically normal to me. However, it is a good idea to check your home/practicing/rehearsal room and your guitar amp for electrical safety, in particular proper grounding.

Electrocution among wired players still happens. Last year a guitarist died on stage during soundcheck before a concert managed by a bandmate of mine. The ground connection of his amp was faulty, as they found out during criminal investigation. :(