Gibson Brands Forums

Custom Advanced Jumbo Questions

high_plains

I'm still learning about what makes model X different model Y from model Z, but I'm stumped on this one. Gibson experts, can you help me out?

Besides the "bling" factor, what would be the difference between a custom short-scale Advanced Jumbo with mahogany back and sides and a J-45 standard? Is the internal bracing really that different to cause a significant change in the tonal properties of the guitar?

I ask only because there's just such an AJ at Wildwood guitars in Denver and, well, I'm curious.

Thanks -

HP

You've pretty much caught them with their shorts down on this one, I think. A short-scale hog AJ is pretty much a contradiction in terms, although I know they exist. Maybe it would be more rightly be called a J-45 with AJ appointments........

I guess, being Gibson, they can build what they want, and call it whatever they want.

So then does the J-45 TV which has the same bracing, body woods, and scale as the J-35 have the same sound?

Doesnt the bracing differ on the J-35 or J-45TV .. ? Im not fully sure, might not, but they certainly do sound different to these ears.

It would be basically a J-35, as the bracing is consistent with the AJ. In other words brighter, more airy tone than a standard J-45.

Ah. So, if the J-35s weren't re-released until 2012, this guitar could have been an attempt to fin that tone before it were available in the J-35. That makes sense.

http://www.wildwoodguitars.com/products/00896054.php?CategoryID=121&n=17