Gibson Brands Forums

Training Your Fingers

MaceWindu57

Hello, I'm new to the guitar, and I'm having difficulties getting my fingers to co-operate with proper placement in the frets so as to avoid touching neighboring strings. My teacher assures me that I'm progressing, but I find myself getting frustrated. Any good advice would be really appreciated!

Hello, I'm new to the guitar, and I'm having difficulties getting my fingers to co-operate with proper placement in the frets so as to avoid touching neighboring strings. My teacher assures me that I'm progressing, but I find myself getting frustrated. Any good advice would be really appreciated!

I think most would agree with me on that — just keep on playing, it will come.

You're not alone! Proper left hand positioning is pretty important. Your teacher ought to be able to help you there. Most electrics have a 1.68 inch nut, which makes for fairly narrow string spacing. I don't know of any electrics with wider string spacing, though I wouldn't be surprised if there are some. I like the acoustic EF-500 Masterbilts for this reason - 1.75" nut ==> wider string spacing for us fat-fingered folk.

You're not alone! Proper left hand positioning is pretty important. Your teacher ought to be able to help you there. Most electrics have a 1.68 inch nut, which makes for fairly narrow string spacing. I don't know of any electrics with wider string spacing, though I wouldn't be surprised if there are some. I like the acoustic EF-500 Masterbilts for this reason - 1.75" nut ==> wider string spacing for us fat-fingered folk.

Thank you for in information! I now know why it's easier for me on my Yamaha acoustic than my ES-335! Easy is a relative term, I'm still trying to get clean tones on chords-when I can get my fingers on right chords that is! [flapper]